Student Life


 Standing Committee for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender Concerns

The Standing Committee for LGBT Concerns was officially organized at the University of Oregon in 1990 as the President's Committee on Lesbian and Gay Issues.  As part of the 1991 Campus Climate Assessment, several recommendations  were made to the UO administration to improve the campus climate for lesbian and gay people.  Since that time, the committee has grown in both membership and scope and continues to serve the campus community as we create a more welcoming and supportive experience for LGBTQ people at the University of Oregon.

For more information about the committee please email

The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Concerns Committee shall be responsible for:

  1. Partnering with campus agencies to ensure a safer, more secure, and welcoming campus for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender persons;
  2. Addressing issues and identifying resources with campus entities to foster a sense of community among lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people at the University of Oregon;
  3. Working to eliminate all types of discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity in university programs, facilities, and services; and,
  4. Sponsoring and encouraging educational programs that promote increased tolerance and understanding on issues of sexual and gender diversity. The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Concerns Committee is staffed by the Office of the Dean of Students.


  1. The regular membership committee of the committee shall consist of 4 faculty, 4 staff, and 4 students;
  2. The committee shall also include 9 ex-officio (non-voting) members, representing the University of Oregon Police Department, Academic Advising, Human Resources, Affirmative Action, President’s Office, LGBTQA, ASUO Gender, Sexuality and Diversity Advocate, Outlaws, and University Housing;
  3. The committee shall appoint two co-chairs from among its members;
  4. The committee shall establish such sub-committees as necessary and invite other members of the university community to join these subcommittees; 
  5. Regular faculty and staff members of the committee will normally serve two-year terms; students will serve one-year terms;
  6. The committee should make every effort to maintain an appropriate balance of teaching faculty, Officers of Administration, and classified staff;  
  7. Appointment of persons with demonstrated commitment to the goals of the committee is essential to its successful functioning. The committee should seek adequate representation in its membership of those persons who are openly gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender as well as people of color and other underrepresented groups.